Beware WhatsApp users – the popular messaging service is adding yet another tool to the arsenal of authoritative group chat admins.
as seen by WABetaInfo (opens in new tab), WhatsApp is working on a new update that will give admins the ability to delete any and all messages sent in group chats they oversee. At the moment, messages can only be deleted by the users who originally sent them, but this new feature – set to be released in beta soon – would share the privilege with admins.
However, all group participants will be notified if and when an admin deletes a message from the group, and admins will be advised of this fact before confirming the option to do so.
As part of a more imminent app update, WhatsApp users will also have more time to delete embarrassing or annoying group chat messages (let’s be honest: we’ve all been there…).
The Delete for All feature, which currently remains active for 1 hour, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds after a message is sent, will soon be extended to 2 days and 12 hours.
As reported by SamMobile (opens in new tab)this extended time is now available for some Android users – having previously been included in the beta version of WhatsApp 188.8.131.52 – and should be rolled out to all WhatsApp users in an upcoming software update.
The ability to delete WhatsApp group messages has undoubtedly proved to be a useful feature for millions of carefree texters in recent years, whose occasional drunk or annoying messages were quickly banned from their respective group chats.
Simply put, the latest WhatsApp update will give users the handy option to delete these messages the next morning – rather than when it’s time to send them…